Time vs. Character

“You can meet somebody tomorrow who has better intentions for you than someone you’ve known forever. Time means nothing. Character does.”

I came across this quote a few days ago and really like it. For the longest time I’ve been blaming myself for other people’s’ actions and behavior, almost like I had a duty to keep them mature and civil. When I wasn’t successful, it would stress me out and give my anxiety over the thought of losing friendships or connections. In the end, I began to wonder if those connections were even worth it. Was it worth all that time, stress, and effort to hold onto something that wasn’t moving forward? What other people say and do is out of my control. People can say positive things or try to justify themselves, but it means nothing if their actions don’t compliment their words. Actions do speak louder than words. Don’t always put value over how long you’ve known someone. Their character and how they treat you is more valuable. Time is just an add on to the value of a relationship. Character > Time.

img_4261

Leave a Reply

